News Flash Home
The original item was published from 3/17/2021 4:07:00 PM to 3/18/2021 8:53:44 AM.

News Flash

Mental Health and Disability Services

Posted on: March 17, 2021

[ARCHIVED] Dubuque County's Mental Health and Disability Services updates

Dubuque County Celebrates You -
This is a test news flash item for Mental Health and Disability Services

Dubuque County celebrates all people that live within our County limits, with a growing population nearing 100,000. People with disabilities add value to our community, and here at Dubuque County, we strive to ensure that people with disabilities across the lifespan have an array of quality services to help them lead purposeful and quality lives. The Department of Mental Health and Disability Services exists to support these efforts.

What is a disability?  What is mental illness?Developmental Disabilities Awareness Month (JPG)

The Americans with Disabilities Act defines a person with a disability as a person who has a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activity. Disability can include physical disabilities, intellectual disabilities, developmental disabilities, and mental health disabilities across the lifespan. With the right supports, many people with disabilities can lead meaningful lives and contribute powerfully to the communities in which they live. NAMI – the National Alliance for the Mentally Ill - defines mental illness as a medical condition that disrupts a person’s thinking, feeling, mood, ability to relate to others and daily function.  Just as diabetes is a disorder of the pancreas, mental illnesses are medical conditions that often result in a diminished capacity for coping with the ordinary demands of life. 

Please visit the ECR website for key information on these services, how to apply for them, and links to related information. East Central Region (ECR).

Facebook Twitter Email