News Flash Home
The original item was published from 7/16/2020 8:53:00 AM to 7/21/2020 12:00:02 AM.

News Flash


Posted on: July 6, 2020

[ARCHIVED] Local Food Policy Council Announces Grant Award Winners

The Dubuque County Food Policy Council (DCFPC) along, with the Dubuque County Board of Supervisors (DCBoS), has announced the grant awards for the FY2021 Community Grant program.

Dubuque, IA – June 29, 2020 - The Dubuque County Food Policy Council (DCFPC) along, with the Dubuque County Board of Supervisors (DCBoS), has announced the following grant awards for the FY2021 Community Grant program: 

Grant WinnerAmount Awarded
Salvation Army – expansion of food insecurity program
$ 2880
Convivium Urban Farmstead – virtual food education/ gardening videos
$ 1890
Dubuque County Agricultural Extension District – harvest of the month boxes
 $  720
Riverbend Food Bank – establish a hospital food pantry
$ 2000
St. Patrick, Epworth- expanding food resources
$ 2929
Society of Saint Vincent DePaul – assist in purchase of new coolers
$ 2709
Project Rooted – buy a locally sourced box, give a box
$ 5000
Key City Creative Center – food box expansion program  
$ 1870

A total of eight applications were received for this new grant program and the DCFPC was pleased to be able to recommend funding for all of the projects that submitted requests. 

Any group or individual located in Dubuque County was eligible to apply for the Community Grant program with a request for a project that addressed at least one of the core principles identified in the DCFPC mission statement: health, well-being, environmental resilience, justice and equity as related to food systems in Dubuque County.  All proposals also needed to include an education and/or engagement component.  Grants were awarded up to a maximum of $5,000 per project.  

The DCBoS adopted a resolution to move forward with funding these Dubuque County projects at their July 6, 2020 meeting.

Formed by the Supervisors in late 2018, the DCFPC’s mission is to integrate health and well-being of the community by promoting a resilient environmental food system that is just and equitable for Dubuque County.  The council strives to accomplish this through policy recommendations, educational outreach and partnerships.  Members hope to be able to support local projects through this grant program again next year.  You can learn more about the council by visiting Food Policy Council web page or follow them on Facebook. 

Members of the DCFPC include: Michaela Freiburger-Chair; Gwen Hall-Driscoll- Vice Chair; Rich Henderson; Cindy Hilken; Kathy Hutton; Sunil Malapati; Whitney Sanger; Paul Schultz; Saralyn Smith- Collingwood- Ex Officio and Patrice Lambert-Ex Officio. 

Media Contact
Email : Michaela Freiburger or (563) 599-5633

Additional Info...
Facebook Twitter Email